Skip to content

Cart

Your cart is empty

Article: HealthLight vs Solawave: Clinical Pain-Relief Pads vs Skincare Red Light Wand (2026)

HealthLight vs Solawave comparison: HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit FDA-cleared LED therapy pads next to a handheld red light skincare wand
HealthLight

HealthLight vs Solawave: Clinical Pain-Relief Pads vs Skincare Red Light Wand (2026)

HealthLight vs Solawave is really a comparison of two different jobs. HealthLight is an FDA-cleared, practitioner-focused red light system built to treat muscle and joint pain. Solawave is a popular handheld skincare wand that pairs red light with galvanic current, massage and gentle warmth for the face and neck. Both use red light, but they are aimed at different problems. Here is an honest look at which one fits which buyer.

Quick Comparison Table

Feature HealthLight (General Pain Relief Kit) Solawave (Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand)
Price $2,040 $169
Format Flexible, contact-based body pads Handheld wand for face and neck
Light and modes Red + near-infrared (clinical pain-relief spectrum) 630nm red light, galvanic current, facial massage, therapeutic warmth; 7 LEDs
FDA status FDA-cleared for pain relief and circulation No FDA clearance claim stated on the wand's product page
Primary use case Back, joint, and muscle pain anywhere on the body Facial skincare routine
HSA/FSA eligible Yes Not stated on the product page; confirm with your plan administrator
Who picks it Clinics, chiropractors, therapists, and people treating pain Consumers who want a low-cost at-home skincare tool

What HealthLight Actually Does

HealthLight's pads are FDA-cleared for temporary relief of minor muscle and joint pain, muscle spasm, stiffness, and increased local blood circulation. Because the pads make direct skin contact and wrap around the area being treated, a practitioner can concentrate the light exactly where a patient needs it, such as a shoulder, a knee or a lower back. That is why HealthLight is sold mostly through chiropractors, physical therapists and clinics.

What Solawave Actually Does

Solawave's Radiant Renewal wand lists four functions on its product page: red light therapy, galvanic current, facial massage and therapeutic warmth. It uses 7 LEDs at 630nm with a stated power density of 40 to 45 mW/cm², runs on a rechargeable battery (up to 90 minutes per charge), and comes with a travel case and charging cable. It is priced at $169 and backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee. It is not intended for anyone under 18, anyone who is pregnant, or anyone with an implanted device such as a pacemaker. Solawave's page does not state an FDA clearance for the wand, and it markets the product around skincare rather than pain relief.

Where They Overlap, and Where They Don't

The overlap is the light itself: both use red LEDs. The difference is the target and the delivery. A small handheld wand treating a patch of facial skin is a very different tool from a set of wrap-around pads delivering light to a painful joint or muscle. If your goal is a simple, inexpensive skincare ritual, Solawave's price is hard to argue with, and a $2,040 clinical kit would be overkill. If your goal is musculoskeletal pain, a facial wand is simply not the right category, and HealthLight's pain-specific clearance is the more directly applicable credential.

HSA/FSA Eligibility

HealthLight products qualify for HSA/FSA based on their FDA clearance for pain relief. Solawave's wand page does not state HSA/FSA eligibility, and eligibility for cosmetic skincare devices is often limited, so confirm with your plan administrator before counting on it.

Our Take

Justin Webster personally owns and uses the HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit and absolutely loves it. It is part of his own routine, not just inventory. He also sees one mistake more than any other: shopping by price first instead of weighing short- and long-term benefits. For a skincare wand, a low price is a perfectly sensible starting point. For treating real pain, buying the right tool once usually beats buying a cheaper one that was never built for the job. Your Health Sanctuary sells primarily to clinicians and patients dealing with actual pain, so for that use case HealthLight is the more defensible recommendation. If it is glowing skin you are after, Solawave is a reasonable, affordable option.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Solawave FDA-cleared for pain relief?

Solawave's Radiant Renewal wand page does not state an FDA clearance, and the wand is marketed for skincare rather than pain relief.

Can a Solawave wand replace a HealthLight pad for joint pain?

No. The wand is a small handheld skincare tool for the face and neck, while HealthLight's contact pads are FDA-cleared for minor muscle and joint pain and designed to wrap the area being treated.

How do the prices compare?

HealthLight's General Pain Relief Kit is $2,040. Solawave's Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand is $169.

Are both eligible for HSA/FSA spending?

HealthLight qualifies through its pain-relief FDA clearance. Solawave does not state HSA/FSA eligibility on the wand's product page, so confirm with your plan administrator.

What does the Solawave wand actually include?

According to Solawave's product page, it combines red light at 630nm, galvanic current, facial massage and therapeutic warmth, and ships with a travel case, charging cable and quick start guide.

Who should choose HealthLight instead of Solawave?

Anyone treating muscle or joint pain, and clinics that need a clinical-grade, FDA-cleared red light system for patients. Solawave suits people who want a low-cost facial skincare routine.

HealthLight vs Solawave comparison: HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit FDA-cleared LED therapy pads next to a handheld red light skincare wand

Related Products

Related Reading

Treating Pain? Start With the Right Tool

Talk to a HealthLight specialist about which kit fits your pain points, or shop the systems Justin personally uses and recommends.

Shop General Pain Relief Kit Shop Ultimate Body Kit

Questions? Call our recovery specialists at (612) 360-2490.

About the Author

Justin Webster is the owner of Your Health Sanctuary. Before founding his consulting company, he served as COO of a chain of 13 medical clinics, then spent his career helping build more than 20 additional niche medical clinics across the United States. Working alongside MDs, chiropractors and physical therapists introduced him to the clinical-grade equipment that practitioners actually prescribe. That background, combined with direct relationships with manufacturers including HealthLight and BIOFLEX, shapes how Your Health Sanctuary evaluates and recommends recovery technology. Justin personally owns and uses the HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit. Your Health Sanctuary sells primarily to medical professionals and clinicians, not consumer gadget buyers.

Read more

HealthLight for knee stiffness: HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit red and near-infrared light therapy pads
condition-guide

HealthLight for Knee Stiffness: Does Red Light Therapy Help Minor Joint Pain? (2026)

HealthLight's FDA-cleared red and near-infrared light devices are intended for the temporary relief of minor muscle and joint pain, minor arthritis pain, and stiffness -- including in the knee. Her...

Read more
HealthLight for Personal Trainers: HealthLight General Pain Relief Kit therapy pads and controller unit
audience-guide

HealthLight for Personal Trainers: 2026 Buyer's Guide

A buyer's guide to HealthLight for personal trainers: what the FDA clearance actually covers, how the General Pain Relief Kit and Ultimate Body Kit compare, and what to check before adding red ligh...

Read more